Awards for 2016 – Hindi, Telugu

Now that Oscars are done and like every year, we question why can’t we have an award ceremony like that in India. To imagine our award “shows” giving the awards to deserving people is a dream which is not going to come true in near future. So, for a moment, let’s imagine an award ceremony which tries to award the deserving people.
We have both Hindi and Telugu here. Hindi because Filmfare didn’t get it right in few categories. Telugu because the awards are even pathetic in South India. Forget about Editing or any technical department, not even Story and Screenplay are awarded in South Indian filmfare or any major awards.



Best Picture – Pink  (Dangal comes damn close though)

Best Director – Ram Madhvani (Neerja)

Best Actor – Manoj Bajpayee (Aligarh) & Shah Rukh Khan (Fan)

Best Actress – Alia Bhatt (Udta Punjab) (Radhika Apte was equally brilliant in Phobia & Parched)

Best Supporting Actress – Shabana Azmi (Neerja)

Best Supporting Actor – Amitabh Bachchan (Pink)

Best Story – Shakun Batra & Ayesha DeVitre (Kapoor and Sons)

Best Screenplay – Shoojit Sarcar & Ritesh Shah (Pink)

Best Dialogues – Ritesh Shah (Pink)

Best Playback female – Kavita Seth (Jeete hai chal – Neerja)  

Best Playback male – Arijit Singh (Channa Mereya – ADHM)

Best Lyrics – Amitabh Bhattacharya (Channa Mereya – ADHM)

Best Music – Pritam (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)

Best Background Score – Andrea Guerra (Fan)

Best Cinematography – Pawel Dyllus (Mirzya)

Best Editing – Monisha R Baldawa (Neerja)

Best Sound Design – Vivek Sachidanand (Phobia)

Best Costumes – Payal Saluja (Udta Punjab)

Best Choreography – Bosco-Ceaser (Kala Chashma)

Best Production Design – Acropolis (Mirzya)

Best Action – Sham Kaushal (Dangal)

Best Visual Effects – Red Chillies (Fan)


Special mentions :

Kanika Kapoor – Da Da Dasse (Udta Punjab)

Sonam Kapoor – Neerja





Best Picture – Pelli Choopulu

Best Director – Chandra Sekhar Yeleti (Manamantha)

Best Actor – Nagarjuna (Oopiri)

Best Actress – Samantha (A Aa) & Ritu Varma (Pelli Choopulu)

Best Supporting Actress – Nanditha Swetha (Ekkadiki Pothavu Chinnavada)

Best Supporting Actor – Jagapathi Babu (Nannaku Prematho)

Best Story – Adivi Sesh (Kshanam)

Best Screenplay – Chandra Sekhar Yeleti (Manamantha)

Best Dialogues – Tharun Bhascker (Pelli Choopulu)

Best Playback Singer female – Shasha Tirupathi (Chakori – SSS)

Best Playback Singer male – Vijay Prakash (Taanu Nenu – SSS)

Best Lyrics – Anantha Sri Ram (Taanu Nenu – SSS) & Bhaskara Bhatla (Mana Oori Ramayanam)

Best Music – A.R. Rahman (Sahasam Swasaga Sagipo)

Best Background Score – Vivek Sagar (Pelli Choopulu) & Mani Sharma (Gentleman)

Best Cinematography – P.S. Vinod (Oopiri)

Best Editing – Kshanam

Best Sound Design – Pelli Choopulu

Best Costumes – Manamantha

Best Choreography – Sekhar (Pakka Local) & Gautham Menon (Vellipomakey)  (No, it’s not Bala Tripuramani from Brahmotsavam :P)

Best Production Design – Thota Tarani (Brahmotsavam)

Best Action – Peter Hein (Nannaku Prematho)

Best Visual Effects – NA


There are few ties because it’s really tough to choose one from them. If you have any strong disagreements with any category, mention in the comments with your choices.


2 thoughts on “Awards for 2016 – Hindi, Telugu

  1. I would give Best Picture to Oopiri …Just had awesome emotions with very good repeat value… Pellichoopulu is good too.. However the emotions in Oopirri make it a tad bit better..

    1. Oopiri was really good. But Pelli choopulu was the most pure film last year. There are no unnecessary additions like an item song which Oopiri had. Moreover, one minor reason why I didn’t choose Oopiri is the fact that it’s not original. It’s a remake of a french film, The Intouchables.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *